$100,000 in PRIZES

  1. Hundred-Thousand Dollar Challenge to Historians of science:
    See DIO 22 [2018] ‡1 §I38 [p.41] for $100,000 in prizes for eclipse-pairs that provide alternate solution(s) to there-specified attested lunar speed ratios under loyal stubborn Muffia's OWN time-constraint (nothing pre-721BC) on eclipse-records Muffiosi will admit could have been available to later astronomers (3rd century BC to 2nd century AD).
    Risking such serious coin is DR's way of exposing the hopelessness of the clubby history-of-science field (whose brave ultimato journal Isis has fled the issue: DIO 22 [2018] ‡1 preface § [p.4]; ‡3 Afterword [p.72]). In over a decade of opportunity, not one of the field's vaunted Experts will accept that Greek astronomers might have had access to 13th century BC Babylonian eclipse data, thus far admitting the survival of no eclipse data before 721BC. Thus they are hereby being challenged to produce real umbral eclipse pairs within their very own just-italicized constraint that directly solves (by the attested method of Almajest 4.2&6.9) the three anciently-attested lunar speed ratios which DIO was the 1st to solve via pairing 1292BC-1190BC eclipses with ones from the classical-antiquity era when these speeds were 1st discovered. I.e., latter eclipses within 50y of respective dates of 1st appearances: 263BC, 140BC, 136AD.
    An unusual and multiply-rewardable chance to add to knowledge.

    Good hunting!

  2. DIO offers two other prizes, $1000 each. These will be awarded at opportunity instead of rigidly per year. (I.e., their pace will be up to judges.) Two international panels of highly qualified judges, will decide future recipients. See below.

  3. Dennis Rawlins, DIO's Publisher, has already awarded the initial (2004) ones, but will not even have a vote in future DIO-prize-judging.

    1. The first E. Myles Standish Award for Scientific Principle goes to Myles Standish himself. E. Myles Standish's eminence in celestial mechanics is already internationally recognized. A leading pioneer in the establishment of numerical integration as the basis of national ephemerides, his orbits — computed by him and his colleagues at Cal Tech's Jet Propulsion Laboratory — have for decades reliably guided the world's ships & airplanes to their terrestrial ports, and NASA's craft to their celestial targets. The Standish Award reflects DIO's gratitude for Myles' lifetime of insisting on high standards of science and truth, and for his opposition to pretense in academe.

    2. The first R. R. Newton Award for Scientific History goes to nonhistorian Charles T. Kowal (Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Lab), long a legendary living-immortal in astronomy, as discoverer of (among other objects) Chiron and two satellites of Jupiter. The specific historical discovery recognized by this Award is his recovery of Galileo's 1613 drawing of Neptune near Jupiter: perhaps the most shockingly outré discovery in the entire enterprise of astronomical history.

  4. The DIO Awards are established as follows:

    1. The E. Myles Standish Award for Scientific Principle.
      Presented to a scholar who has excelled in the area of scientific principle by example, creativity, and-or analysis. Judges:

      Stephen Brush, University of Maryland; President Emeritus, History of Science Society.
      E. Myles Standish, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology.
      Christopher Walker, Department of West Asian Antiquities, British Museum.

    2. The R. R. Newton Award for Scientific History.
      Presented for a discovery in which history is advanced by use of scientific analysis. Judges:
      Rob't M. Bryce, Editor DIO, author of Cook&Peary: the Polar Controversy Resolved 1997.
      Keith Pickering, author of biography of 1st North Pole-attainer by surface, Ralph Plaisted.
      F. Richard Stephenson, Physics, University of Durham; International Astronomical Union, longtime #1 world expert on Earth's rotational acceleration.

  5. The awarding of DIO prizes will henceforth be strictly up to the appointed panels, in order that evaluation of merit will be entirely out of DR's hands. The panels are also encouraged to consider & suggest improvements of the definitions of standards & principles, by which potential recipients will be judged.

    Notice 2008-2009:
    By majority vote of the R. R. Newton Award committee:
    the R. R. Newton Award for Scientific History has been granted to Steve Albers and to Gerd Graßhoff: $1000 each.

    Steve Albers proposed the fruitful idea of consulting historical satellite-search ms records of then-known planets when near geocentric conjunction with then-unknown planets, to find unwitting observations of the latter — an idea that led to Charles Kowal's world-famous 1980 find of Galileo's 1613 Neptune sightings. Kowal's first-ever first-person story behind this forever-unique discovery is a DIO exclusive: DIO 15.

    Overturning universal obliviousness (shared by RRN & DR), Gerd Graßhoff created (University of Hamburg 1986 thesis, English translation 1990, Springer) the completely original, successful, and key-controversy-resolving project of demonstrating undeniable mass-statistical correlations of star-position errors in Hipparchos' Commentary & Ptolemy's Almajest . (This study's instant conversion of Syntaxis editor Gerald Toomer [to realization that Ptolemy had appropriated Hipparchos' star catalog] is a credit both to Graßhoff and to Toomer.) Graßhoff is also co-editor (with A.Stückelberger) of the first complete modern-language critical edition (2006) of Ptolemy's Geography; our admiration of and appreciation for this monumental work may be consulted in the preface to DIO 14 [2008] ‡3 [p.33].

  6. Anyone is free to propose nominees or achievements, by simply sending specifics to the appropriate panel of judges.
    And anyone in the world is eligible for the awards. With one exception: DR.